Heavyweight News!

Standard
Ocean Co. Library Main Branch, Toms River

Ocean Co. Library
Main Branch, Toms River

If you follow my Facebook, Twitter or Tsu, you may have already read about my good news, but I wanted to make sure I posted about it here as well. Heavyweight  is coming to libraries in NJ soon! This has me excited beyond belief.

Every writer loves to sell books; the thought that someone is interested enough to buy a copy makes any author happy. Some may think that having their work in a library means less sales because people will be able to read for free (the library does buy their copy but then obviously anyone with a library card can take it out), but for me, to know that it will be in libraries where people who wouldn’t have access to it otherwise can get a copy, makes me more than ecstatic.

LGBTQ literature is greatly under represented everywhere, but especially in libraries.  I think having stories with LGBTQ main characters easily accessible could save a teen who feels alone or that no one understands them. They need the escape just as much as anyone else and it’s easier for them to place themselves in the story if a character has the same thoughts, concerns, feelings, desires as the main characters. I think it’s also a good opportunity to learn about the culture through stories and if someone hasn’t come out yet, it’s possible to read the books and not have people question what they’re reading (of course that will depend on the cover images and occasionally the title).

I have already contacted libraries in other counties in the hopes that they will bring in Heavyweight or other stories from my publisher’s, Harmony Ink, catalog. While it will be great to see my books on the shelves of libraries, I would really love to see a larger selection of books in the YA/NA section over all.

If you agree, don’t hesitate to contact the YA librarian in your local libraries.  They can look into bringing in books they don’t already carry and it’s good for them to know what’s out there.

Have you ever requested that your library try to get a specific book that they don’t carry in their system?

Leave a Reply

