Reading Slump

Standard

reading bored dog_thumb[1]After all this time, I don’t think it’s a secret that I love books and I love to read.   A few scant years ago, I was reading between 150-200 books a year.  That’s a whole lot a books!  I still love to immerse myself into a good story, to get lost and forget my own issues, but lately, I’ve been having a read hard time settling down and getting into some of my favorite authors.  It’s not that the stories are bad (they’re not!), in fact, many of them I’ve been waiting years to read! I just can’t seem to shut off my mind and all the other shit going on in my life to throw myself into a good book.

I’m very much an advocate of writers being readers.  I think we learn from what we read, whether it’s what to do or what not to do.  I think, as a writer, you need to know what’s out there in your genre. Frankly, I don’t understand writers who tell me they’re not readers.  It just does not compute with me.

So how do I get out of this slump? Do I have to wait until all my life issues are resolved? Until my brain can settle down a bit?  I don’t know that that will happen any time soon. Do I have to give myself a deadline or make a schedule?  Does anyone want to get into a summer reading competition with me? Maybe we can come up with some cool prizes!

Ideas and suggestions welcome!

One response »

  1. I have been having that same problem. I have a lot going on and I’m so focused on my work that when I am not working I can’t stop feeling like I should be doing something productive. Maybe its just a season and we’ll be back to normal soon.

Leave a Reply

