And so it begins…

Standard

Firstly, thanks to everyone who helped make Heavyweight‘s release so successful! Whether you shared a link, liked a post, re-tweeted a tweet or purchased the book, every little bit helps and I’m extremely grateful to you all!  If you did purchase a book (thank you!) please consider leaving a review when you’ve finished it.  I’d love to know what you thought of it, but also, it’s helpful for prospective buyers to see if other readers enjoyed it.

Secondly, I just want to put out there, that if you’re interested in reading my book but don’t have the money to spend on it (trust me, I know how that goes) go to your local library and speak with the librarian to see if they can get it.  My publisher, Harmony Ink Press, is very interested in getting their books into libraries so please, don’t hesitate to ask!

The reason I bring it up is because while Googling myself and the book title (like you guys don’t do it! Hah), I found a request for the book on a pirate site. The book hasn’t even been out for a week yet and already someone is trying  to get (and got!) a free copy.  The person asking was from Venezuela,so perhaps they couldn’t purchase it there, but it’s still hard to see, especially when the e-book version is so affordable.  I hope, at least, that person will review it somewhere.

On one hand, it’s a compliment that they were interested enough in reading it to try and hunt down a copy, but on the other hand unless an author is named Stephen King or JK Rowling, they are not typically making very much money.  Every sale counts and a lot of people put time and effort into the production of the book, not just the author, so please keep that in mind if you’re considering hunting for a freebie.

What are your thoughts on pirate sites and would you be forgiving if everyone who got a freebie gave you a review?

One response »

  1. I can’t believe that’s already happened. You’d think it’d take a little longer. Anyways, I try not to let piracy worry me. I’d rather the person bought it, but I’m also happy they want to read it. I do report sites that I’ve found my book on.

Leave a Reply

