Nano Sneak Peek – Chapter 2

Standard

Time is limited therefore I decided Thursdays in November will be for teasers. 1) it’s quick and easy 2) it keeps me writing so I have stuff to share 3) why not?

In case you missed last week, here’s Chapter One in the 2nd installment of Errand Girl of the Undead.  Remember, as per Nanowrimo rules, no editing has been done so excuse any typos or other general weirdness!

______________________________________________________________________________________

Chapter Two

After scrambling to eat food and get out the door in time, I breathed a huge sigh of relief to make it to school before the bell.  Tyler, grinning at my melodramatic reaction, grabbed the strap on his backpack before opening the car door.  When he smiled like that, I had to resist the urge to scratch him behind the ear.

Tyler started at my school a couple weeks after I brought him home with me.  He had been forcefully turned into a werewolf by an old vamp, Tomas, who had something against Josiah. He had used Tyler to get him meals, a.k.a. fresh blood, and tried to get him to kill me to get back at my guardian.  To his credit, Tyler resisted eating me, even though he had been starved for a whole month before being let loose on the full moon and pointed in my direction.  I took it as a sign that he wasn’t just a mindless monster and that he could be saved. Not to mention I had always wanted a pet. Tyler was as close as I could get to having a puppy.

I couldn’t help but smile as I watched him lope off towards the building, excited to meet up with the new friends he was making and generally enjoying life for a change.  He had told us he came from an abusive home and was living on the streets when Tomas found him.  I was glad, if for no other reason, that he was happy and living the life of a “normal” teen, at least for 29 days out of the month.

Heading towards my locker, I couldn’t help but think about the situation that led me to Tyler in the first place.  When I had figured out what was going on, Josiah had hired me to stake Tomas for his crimes.  Before I could drive the pointed piece of wood home, Tomas taunted me with claims of knowing about my origin and how I had come to be with Josiah.  Samson assured me that Tomas was just trying to stall, looking for a way out of his impending final death, but I couldn’t help but be curious about what he said.  Thoughts of it kept me up at night, tossing and turning, trying to screw up the courage to question Josiah about it.

Until Tomas had mentioned it, I didn’t realize how much it bothered me not to know where I came from.  Josiah had always been my father-figure and I was happy enough to be well cared for and loved in the  best way he knew how, but now…now I can’t help but wonder who my mother and father were and why I wasn’t still with them.

“Earth to Ellie. Hellllllo.”

A hand waving in front of my face snapped me out of my thoughts.  Quick reflexes kept me from grabbing the arm connected to the hand and wrenching it up behind their back.  Good thing too because I think that totally would have ruined my chances of ever dating the cute guy attached to that arm.

“Oh, hey Jon,” I replied, hoping I wasn’t blushing.  When you’re as pale as me, the slightest hint of color makes you look like a tomato.

“Hi,” he said, smiling, which I admit made my knees a little weak.  Big scary vampires threatening to kill me don’t make my knees knock but give me a cute boy throwing his 100 watt smile my way? I’m a goner. “You looked like you were a million miles away.”

I ducked my head in embarrassment at being caught, lost in thought. “Yeah, I suppose I was…”

“Happens to the best of us at times,” he said patting my shoulder.  I gave him what I hoped was a cute smile and not a manic “OMG he’s touching me!” smile.

Jon reached around and opened the door to our homeroom, sweeping his arm in a grand gesture to allow me to enter first. I nodded my thanks and hurried in, hoping my ass didn’t look too big in this skirt.

The rest of the school day was uneventful.  I had another couple of bouts of “head in the clouds” during class, but thankfully I’m a good student and was able to answer when the teachers called on me.

Tyler was waiting at my locker, his usual gaggle of girls surround him.  I tried not to roll my eyes at their excessive fawning and giggling.  Tyler is super cute, especially now that he’s put some weight back on and got a decent haircut.  I can tell he likes the attention, but I also know he won’t let any of them get too close.  We share the burden of not being able to really get involved with someone for fear of them finding out about our “other” lives.

I noticed a few  evil eyes looked my way as Tyler waved at me with excitement. I guess they thought we were a couple or something.  That’ll never happen.  Don’t get me wrong, Tyler’s a great guy and like I said, not hard on the eyes, but he’s more like a brother to me and I think the feeling is mutual.  It’s actually a good thing because if there were romantic feelings, living together would be difficult.

Originally, Josiah was going to get Tyler into a pack, so he could learn more about being a Were, but because the local pack had something to do with his turning, Tyler had no desire to join them.  Instead, Josiah called in an old friend, a lone wolf who roams the country doing odd jobs, to come help Tyler learn to deal with his curse.  They seem to get along well and everyone is content with the current situation.

Ty crushed me in a tight hug when I got within range.  If looks could kill, I’m sure I’d be dead. Those girls were not happy with that action. I, on the other hand, loved it.  For as great a father as Josiah was, he was never big on a lot of touching. I don’t know if it was just unnatural to him and his kind or if he was concerned he might hurt me in some way.  Siobhan was good for hugs, but she’s so tiny she can’t even get her arms all the way around my waist.  Tyler’s hugs were like a big blanket, enveloping me in warmth and security.  We may not have known each other long, but circumstances have made us grown close in a very short period of time. I would miss him something fierce if he were to go away.

“How was your day?” he asked, stepping back so I could open my locker.

“Ooh same ole same ole.  Yours?”  I glanced over my shoulder at him, turning my lock by memory.

“Not too shabby.”  He grinned, tipping his head towards to the catty pack of girls.

I rolled my eyes and swung the locker door open. A small piece of paper came fluttering out, turning end over end before it landed at my feet.

“Oooh, a love letter?” one of the girls asked before reaching around me to make a grab for it.  I hip checked her out of the way. No way was I letting someone else read whatever it was before I did.   She stumbled back with an “oof”, practically landing in Tyler’s arms.  It was amazing to watch the murderous rage slide off her face as he smiled down at her, helping to put her up right.  Tearing my eyes away from the sickeningly sweet exchange, I reached down and plucked the piece of paper off the speckled cement floor.

Nerves fluttered a bit in my stomach as I turned the paper over.  The neat black print stood out offensively on the stark white paper.  The nerves settled into a heavy lump in my stomach, my throat suddenly tight.

“I know who you are and where you come from.”

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: NaNo Sneak Peek – Chapter 3 | Keystrokes and Word Counts

Leave a Reply

