Halloween Horror-Tales

Standard

I love Halloween. It’s my favorite time of the year. I love a good scare but I have to admit, I haven’t read a horror story in years that made me scared to turn off the light at night.

eastern state

A watch tower at the Eastern State Penitentiary

As a kid I loved Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark and anything by Stephen King (I was an…odd child) as well as Edger Allan Poe stories (who doesn’t love Tell-Tale Heart??). As I got older, I found there weren’t as many horror stories out there and the ones I did read just didn’t do it for me.

Then again, I guess I just don’t scare easily anymore. Yesterday I visited the Eastern State Penitentiary, which was fantastic and made me jump on occasion, but I wasn’t quaking in my boots.  Guess I’m just too easy going to really frighten?

What are your favorite spooky tales? Do you know of a book that will make me scared to sleep alone? 

I’ve tried my hand at writing horror,  A New Kind of High is a 4,110 word short story that’s free on Smashwords. Check it out and see if it gives you a bit of a scare for Halloween. Here’s a YouTube review!  Happy hauntings, all!

A new kind of high short cover

Leave a Reply

