Book Review – Elite

Standard

Title: Elite

Author: Rachel Van Dyken

Genre:  New Adult/Contemporaryelite

Source:  NetGalley

Goodreads Rating: 4.24 stars

My Rating: 3 stars

Summary (from Goodreads):

When I won the annual Eagle Elite College Scholarship lottery, I was thrilled. After all, my grandma had just died and I wanted to take care of my aging grandpa — he couldn’t be a farmer in Wyoming forever. And graduating from Eagle Elite meant opportunity.

But I wasn’t counting on meeting Nixon.

Nor was I counting on the rules of the Elect.

1. Do not touch The Elect.
2. Do not look at The Elect.
3. Do not speak to The Elect.

And worst of all? Don’t discover the secret they hide, because in the end, you may just realize… it’s about you.

*This is a New Adult Book, blood, violence, cursing, sexual references, and drug use. Not recommended for those under 17.*

Reaction:

A familiar story although I admit I didn’t catch on to the Romeo/Juliet bit until later in the story.  It’s a decent read and you wonder why Nixon is being such an a-hole, but as secrets are spilled and things are revealed you realize that there’s a method to his madness and you come to like him a bit instead of hating his behaviors, but the bullying and sexual harassment is pretty abhorrent and a bit of a turn off. I wish Trace had fought back more.  The fact that the “kids” ran the school seemed quite unrealistic and honestly it was a bit ludicrous that all the adults would bow and scrape to them.  Not a horrible read but I wouldn’t put it at the top of my list.

Leave a Reply

