Power Reader Experience @ BEA2013 – Part 1

Standard

Firstly, sorry for missing Thursday’s post! Not sure how that happened…

I’m going to break this up into two possibly three posts so you’re not crushed with info and images.

Now, onto the experience! My partner in crime for the day and I drove into the city and parked near the Javits Center (best decision of all! To lug all our bootie home on public transportation would have been beyond torturous) and got there shortly before 8am.  Check in was super easy and we were early enough to get a bag of goodies from Macmillan. Since my buddy, John, wanted a list of everything I got, I figured these posts would be good spots for that.

Our bag of macmillan goodies we got at check in.

Our bag of macmillan goodies we got at check in.

The bag from Macmillan included the following:

Her Last BreathLinda Castillo

Jana Bibi’s Excellent Fortunes – Betsy Woodman

Lincoln’s Last Days – Bill O’Reilly (audio book)

Miss Havisham – Ronald Frame (prelude to Dicken’s Great Expectations)

The Nightmare – Lars Kepler

Stolen Allison Brennan

The Way of KingsBrandon Sanderson (like the Wheel of Time books, this one is HUGE & took up a lot of space! Haha)

Tiffany is browsing the BEA booklet we got while waiting to get in to see Neil.

Tiffany is browsing the BEA booklet we got while waiting to get in to see Neil.

After checking in, we went downstairs to wait for the Neil Gaiman talk on why Fiction is Dangerous.  While waiting in line we got chatty with the folks around us and found they were from all over like California and Portland. Many of them were bloggers and library science students.

This was waiting on each seat.

This was waiting on each seat.

When we were let into the meeting room, a bio on Mr. Gaiman was waiting on each chair as well as an index card.  We were told to write a question for him on the card and they would collect them so he could answer as many as he could.

The wait was interesting. There was a gal with bright pink hair in front of me (annoying for photos as her hair was…high) and a younger girl next to me took out a small sketch book and was drawing other people in the crowd. She was pretty good. I wish I could have sneaked a pic of some of her work.

He was introduced by his editor and talked about his family, how he came up with ideas for his two most recent books (one children’s one

A goofy looking Neil Gaiman throwing buttons into the crowd.

A goofy looking Neil Gaiman throwing buttons into the crowd.

adult).  To help promote his children’s book Fortunately, the Milk, he threw out fun buttons with other titles they put milk in such as: The Milk Never Sets, and Animal Milk. Sadly, I didn’t get one.  Once bounced off of me and the girl behind me grab it. *Le sigh*

Neil was incredibly down to earth and quite a bit funnier than I expected him to be. He’s

Funny man!

Funny man!

definitely on  my list of famous people (dead or alive) to have dinner with! Haha.  I was able to take a short (well 6 min.) video of some of the Q&A he did at the end of the talk.

You can watch that here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kl1RnKUKXWs

We were lucky enough to leave with not one but TWO  (pre)signed books: Fortunately, the Milk  and Make Good Art the commencement speech he gave at Philadelphia’s University of the Arts graduation last year.

My friend and I both agreed that his talk alone was worth the price of admission (and I’m not sure she’s even read anything of his!). If you ever have the opportunity to see him give a talk or do a reading, I suggest you go!

To be continued! Next post: Publisher Speed Date.

The font inside is very interesting...

The font inside is very interesting…

Explaining how he came up with the ideas for his newest books

Explaining how he came up with the ideas for his newest books

My signed copy.

My signed copy.

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

