The Responses Come Trickling In

Standard

So if you remember, the Pitch Madness contest was about a month ago and I’ve been on pins and needles waiting to hear from the six agents who requested pages. Finally*, responses are starting to trickle in.

I’ve gotten two emails back from agents, both of them rejections. Polite, mind you, but rejections all the same. One of them was especially encouraging, telling me I have talent and  reminding me that there’s someone out there for the project. Rejections can hurt but those kind don’t sting quite so much.

As a self-published author, I’ve never had to go through this process of waiting and rejections.  While I’ve sent out a query or two for another manuscript, this is the first I’ve sent something out in bulk.  It’s definitely a different experience.  If I was still going the self-pub route, I’d be in the process of getting a cover done for Heavyweight and setting up release day promos. Instead, it’s all wait, wait, wait. I’m hoping it’ll be worth it in the end.

I really believe this story needs to hit the shelves and have a wide release, so I will continue to push through the traditional process and try not to bite my nails off while I’m waiting.  I’m waiting to hear if I was accepted into another contest that is being looked at by some great agents, so we shall see if anything comes of it.

Keeping my fingers crossed.

 

 

* I know a 4 to 6 weeks for a response can be pretty typical, it’s just that each week seems a month long while you’re waiting

4 responses »

  1. It’s when the targeted agent specifies “no simultaneous queries” – you have to wait 6-8 weeks for the rejection before you can send off to the next one on your list.

  2. Fingers crossed for you!

    I’m doing edits and soon to be sending off for critiques. Then I’ll be in your waiting game too. The only thing I can think to do is start working on something else. That’s why I always have at least 3 project going at any time, all in different stages.

Leave a Reply

