Are You A Book Cheerleader?

Standard

Rah Rah Sis Boom Bah! Read this book! Read this book! Rah rah rah!

Okay, so I was never a cheerleader. Instead, I played in the band and we liked to torment the cheerleaders by slowly speeding up the music they danced to. Always fun! Heh.

But, I am a cheerleader for the books I love.  When I come across a story and characters that really pull me in, I want to share it with the world! Anytime people are looking for recommendations I will give them a list of stuff I love in the hopes that they will love it as much as I do.  I have a small group of friends I am constantly recommending books to, whether they ask me or not.  We have similar taste in a lot of aspects (books, movies, music,TV, etc.) so I will drop them an email:

“Hey ‘So-and-so’! I just read ‘fill in name here’. It was awesome and I think you will love it. Let me know if you read it!”

Then I will sit and wait and wait and wait, hoping to hear that they’ve picked it up, read it and want to discuss! Now I’m sure I can go to forums on Goodreads or where ever and discuss these same books with people have already read the book, but somehow, it’s just not the same.

I think I just really like to be able to introduce people to something new, be it books or music or TV shows. Is that the hipster in me?

“I read ‘blah blah’ before it was cool, man!”

Do you spread the love of your favorite books? What are some of your most loved stories, and why are they at the top of your list?

 

One response »

Leave a Reply

