Making a Change – Resigning Yourself to Say it’s Just Not Working

Standard

When sales aren’t going as well you as you’d like, you start looking into the possible reasons why: Not enough done in promotions, not enough participation (blog hops, giveaways, etc), books priced too high, story not engaging enough, etc.

CoverImage small

I love Darcy!

I don’t think the price nor the story is my issue. I have yet to find someone who didn’t enjoy the book (although I’m sure there’s one out there, but I’m blissfully unaware of them at the moment.) Thinking about it, I’ve come to the conclusion that  my beloved Tears of a Clown  would probably benefit from a new cover.

It’s sad to me because a lot went into the making of it and I do love it, I do, but I’ve got to be honest with myself that not everyone will like the same things I do.  I think the cover represents Darcy to a tee and I think it gives the reader an idea of what the story is about but I also know that people are freaked out by clowns (or clown-like makeup such as Darcy sports) and it could be a turn off to many. Eye catching or not, I think more people would be willing to pick up the book if I made a change to the cover.

I’m not sure where to go to from here since I don’t have the funds for a new cover at the moment and I’m not really sure what I’d do to change it, but I hope to have something new in place before I do a big book signing in September. That gives me plenty of time and who knows, if you have a copy of the original cover, maybe it will be worth something someday!

Have you ever decided to make a major change to your book after publication? Did it help interest and sales?

2 responses »

  1. I had to do the same thing with my second book, Nobody’s Fault – take heart, when you re-do the cover it will probably start selling more! My first one, You Wish, has always been a good seller – it was in two genre charts last night, which is pretty good considering it’s been out 16 months now – and I decided on the cover after looking at lots of thumbnails on Amazon and deciding which ones stood out – for it is the thumbnail that matters, if you’re selling online. Good luck with the book signing x

Leave a Reply

