Some of My Favorite Reads of 2012

Standard

Again, the end of the year is right around the corner–I swear I see it peeking at me!–and so I thought I’d share with you, my lovely followers, some of my favorite books that came out this year.  I know I will probably forget some from the beginning of the year (it happens when you read close to 200 books a year) but I figure some are better than none!

Firstly, Days of Blood and Starlight.  I loved the first book in the series, Daughter of Smoke and Bone and the sequel did not disappoint. Great story, characters you come to love, beautiful flowing prose that has me wanting to visit Prague and Marrakesh.

Then there’s The Raven Boys. I do love everything I’ve read of Maggie Stievfater, but I especially love how she worked in Arthurian legend into her most recent series. While not a new concept, you don’t see much of it in YA novels (the only other series off the top of my head that deals with it at all is My Boyfriend Merlin which is a fun series as well).

Ashes of Honor: An October Daye Novel.  I don’t follow a lot of “adult” series anymore, but I love love love the Toby Daye stuff and the newest in the series does not disappoint. I’m only sad I have to wait a year in between the books. I love how things are finally coming together, how some of the tension is finally dealt with. I think she’s a kickass female MC who isn’t without her weaknesses and faults.  Great paranormal series if you haven’t read any of it, pick it up now! 🙂

Earlier in the year, I discovered the Lux series (Opal, Obsidian, Onyx, Shadows). The all came out this year (which is awesome when reading a series!) and I really enjoyed them.  Stories about aliens are starting to pick up in the YA genre (Maybe thanks to the I am Number Four stuff) and this is a great series that doesn’t come off as cheesy. (*Edit, I just finished Opal and found there will be at least one more book in the series. Huzzah!)

I waited a looong time for the last book in the Graceling series to come and Bitterblue did a fantastic job of pulling all the loose ends together and connecting Graceling and Fire, two books which didn’t seem to have too much in common at all. A fantastic YA fantasy series with great strong female MCs.

Cinder was a great retelling of a very familiar story. A dash of steampunk and a dash of paranormal (if aliens can be considered paranormal) and written well enough that I didn’t feeling like I knew everything that was going to happen, even though we all know the basic Cinderella story.

Point of Retreat  is the great sequel to Colleen Hoover’s Slammed.  She is an Indie author that got picked up by Simon &  Schuster and rightfully so because her books are amazing and gritty and heart-wrenching. I adore her and look forward to reading her most recent novel, Hopeless.

When I read Reason to Breathe last year, I was crushed at the ending that didn’t answer nearly enough for me so when I saw there was a sequel to come out this year, I jumped for joy. Barely Breathing let me know, finally, what happened to Emma and how she continued on after her struggles. A great and powerful contemporary novel.

Finally, there’s the sob inducing The Fault in Our Stars. Can John Green write a book that won’t reduce me to tears? I don’t think so.  His stories are real and emotional with characters you grow to love and hate to see hurt. It may take him a while to put out a new book but it is *ALWAYS* worth the wait.

I know there are a lot of other great books I’ve read (contemporary ones where the titles blend together I think…) but these are just a few I really enjoyed during the year and have recommended to others. If you haven’t read these, be sure to look into them!

What are some of your favorite books to come out in 2012?

Leave a Reply

