The Final Push – Nanowrimo

Standard

The end is almost near! Just a few short days until NaNoWriMo 2012 is all over.  How are you doing?  Finish early (btw, that’s okay in Nano if not in certain ummm other aspects of life)?  Maybe you’re right on track, chugging along to finish on the 30th, victorious! Oooor perhaps you’re like me, behind and starting to panic.

I’m not super far behind. It’s totally doable for me to hit the 50k by the end of the week. My problem is just lack of motivation.  That’s not to say I don’t like my story, because I do! It’s super cute and I want to see how my characters end up.  It’s not that I don’t have an ending in mind, it’s not that the words are escaping me, forcing me to stare at a blank screen for hours, I just can’t seem to get motivated to sit and write lately.

Maybe it’s because some of my favorite regulars aren’t participating this year. Maybe it’s just the general malaise of my life lately. Maybe I’m just lazy. Maybe it’s all of the above.

There’s four days left and one more write-in tomorrow. Hopefully that will help push me to finish.  While it’s not the end of the world if I don’t finish on time, but I will be disappointed with myself and who needs more disappointment in life, right?

What are you doing for your final push?

 

2 responses »

  1. I went ahead and validated my book even though I’m still adding scenes this week. I guess I could validate it again on the 30th, but I’ve already made the NaNo goal of 50K, just not my personal goal of finishing the book. I’m hoping I can still do it since I know next month my writing isn’t just taking a back seat to the holidays, it’s getting tossed into the back seat with a flurry of other projects, so other than some sporadic evening work, I won’t be doing any major writing until January.

    One of my writing buddies is close, so I should send her a message. Looks like Nano is going to have some nice prizes this year, though that isn’t why I decided to participate, so keep it up MaryBeth. We’re all rooting for you. Write! Write! Write!

    • Heh thanks! I’m close too. I know it’ll get done, just need that motivation!

      Congrats on winning! For what it’s worth, I rarely finish the story in the 30 days. Most of my stuff needs another 10k which I get done in Dec. or Jan. You’ll get it done too! 😀

Leave a Reply

