Distractions Be Gone!

Standard

As a resident of the Jersey Shore, like most people in the state, I was without power for all of last week.  Halfway through the week the clubhouse in my community got power, so I was able to go up there for a couple hours, charge up and lose myself in my writing. Not having TV did wonders for my word counts.  Not having heat made me cherish the hours in the warmth, not wanting to return home to my chilly house, even if I was dealing with loud chatty older folk who were pestering me occasionally to find out what I was doing.

Since I got power back (Huzzah! There was much rejoicing!) my word count has definitely suffered.  I’m still above the curve, but there are so many distractions around! TV shows to catch up on and lure me into a warm comfy lull on the couch, laundry to be done, dishes to be put away, phone calls coming in, etc.

You’d think it would be easy to turn the boob tube off (heh does anyone call it that anymore…besides maybe the elderly?) and to focus, but for some reason it’s just not!  We’re having another storm with all this heavy snow that could very well put the power back out.  I don’t want to spend another week in the dark, but my NaNoWriMo novel would love it.

I’m hoping as things get back to “normal” some of my regular NaNo writing buddies will start pushing and challenging me a little more which will help me get past all the distractions. I know I should be able to do it myself, but as the song says “I get by with a little help from my friends” and that’s especially true when it comes to the 50,000 words in 30 days. We shall see.

Go away distractions, taunt me another day!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

