NaNoWriMo is here!

Standard

It’s that time of year again! Time to buckle down and get your 50k words written in 30 days!  I have heard all sorts of arguments for and against doing NaNoWriMo and all I can say is do what works best for you.  If you can’t write well under that pressure, then don’t push yourself.  If you find it to be a great catalyst to start a project, then go for it!  Don’t let others sway you with their own opinions. Do what *you* want.

I won’t be doing daily blogging this year as I did last, but you’re welcome to look back if you need the encouragement.  I will say that if you’re going to participate, take advantage of the forums and ask questions, do research, get involved in word wars and sprints. Just make sure you leave them to do some actual writing! I know how easy it is to get sucked in over there.

My last words, for the moment, on NaNo is that you should remember that even if you complete a novel in the month of November, please realize that while the story is written, it is far from done.  Please don’t go trying to submit it somewhere without taking the time to edit, rewrite and have people beta read it.  NaNo seems to get a bad rep from those who try to send their work to agents or to self publish by skipping those important steps.  If you’ve taken the time to write the story, it deserves to be in the best form possible before hitting a wide spread reader base.  Please take pride in your work and in the industry. By putting out subpar working, you’re making the rest of us look bad.

If you’re participating, best of luck! If you let me know who you are over there, I’ll add you as a writing buddy!  Happy Noveling!

5 responses »

  1. I’m writing and I’m already had a mini melt down! Thank goodness I got over it! Right now my theme song is One Way or Another! Gotta love Blondie! LOL Oh I’m RJGough…

    • Ha! I love me some Blondie! I got a good 2300 words in this morning. The perk to not having power means no internet which means nothing to distract me! Now in the clubhouse is a different story but at least I can look things up if need be. Keep it up!

  2. Pingback: Day 1 of NaNoWriMo | The Claire Violet Thorpe Express

Leave a Reply

