The Difference Between Liking to Write & Being a Writer

Standard

Several months ago I started attending meetings of the local writing group at a nearby Barnes and Nobles store.  Two of the members were guys I knew previously from organizing Nanowrimo write ins  this past November.  I was nervous, but excited, to be reading for others and commenting on their work as well. As I kept returning, month after month, I started to realize something about some of my fellow group members.  There were definitely some who were serious about being writers and becoming authors and there were others who just liked to write and perhaps tried to tell others that they are “writers”.

Are you wondering what’s the difference? I will tell you.

A person who likes writing is someone who will start writing a book and never finish it. It’s someone who complains that their edits are never ending but only because they don’t really work on them. It’s someone who starts multiple books and brags about it, but has never finished one to the point where it could be sent out to agents or self published. They are the ones who tell everyone they are writers, but when asked when others can read/buy it, they constantly make excuses. They are the ones who will continue to make edits and polish the piece , rewriting scene after scene, trying to achieve perfection.  Now there’s nothing wrong with editing and polish, but at some point you need to say this is as good as it gets and send it out there to sink or swim.

A writer is the person who moves ahead with their work. Someone who writes on a regular basis and strives to improve. They are the ones who take chances and put their work out there for rejection or acceptance. They take criticism and suggestion but know that ultimately, it’s their work and they don’t need to follow that advice if they don’t think it will benefit their novel.  They are avid readers and are following trends in their genres, getting to know other authors who write what they do and are looking for ways to promote themselves.  They work towards deadlines (whether it be self given or by an agent/publisher) and they encourage others by sending out ARCs and samples of their upcoming work (hard to back out of publishing when people already have copies and are writing reviews). They’re not afraid to step outside of the box either in their stories or in the promotion of their writing. They look forward to finally finishing a product so they can start on something new.

So can a person who likes to write actually become a writer? Sure they can. I don’t think it’s a difficult transition to make, but they have to really want to. They have to be willing to take the risks and put themselves out there to possibly get hurt.  Taking criticism is no easy task and I’m sure even the seasoned professionals get hurt when someone says something bad about their books, but it’s part of being a writer and if you can;t handle that, then best you stick to just liking to write as a hobby.

16 responses »

  1. Bang on article! Great points. I particularly enjoyed the portrait of the people who have all those multiple-manuscripts on the go, but never published, or submitted to anyone, always hidden from view (and criticism).

    A mentor of mine once taught me long ago, you never finish a project, you just abandon it. Finishing it is up to the readers.

    • Good point! It’s just sad sometimes because some of these people can tell good stories that I know others would like to read but they just won’t take the chance and put it out there.

  2. (I think my comment got lost in cyberspace) – I think I said something like spot on article. Definitely there is a difference between writing for fun and writing for profit. I have gone both the traditional and self pubbed routes, but I don’t consider myself a writer since I’m not dedicated and don’t write every day. I do feel that when I produce something it is quality and worth putting out there. Thanks for sharing with us – E 🙂

    Elysabeth Eldering
    Author of Finally Home, a middle grade/YA paranormal mystery (written similar to a Nancy Drew mystery)

    • Now see, I beg to differ with you. If you have published, you are dedicated because I *KNOW* the kind of work that goes into publishing. I do write just about everyday but it’s not always book related. It could be blogging or working on queries, etc. It all counts. I would definitely put you in the writer pile. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Paralysis of Analysis

  4. I think I’ve been on the cusp of writer-dom for a long while – I carve out the time to improve my craft and make progress in my WiP – but, it was only recently that I truly became a WRITER – with a deadline in mind. It’s hard work, and some days I fail my wordcount goal miserably, but it feels wonderful to be making the effort – even when I’m having to say “No” to other things. It’s what I want. I want to finish. I want to share (I already do). I want to publish. I will publish.
    Enough about me …
    Spot on definitions, though. There is definitely a difference between those who “like to write” and those who are “writers”.

  5. Pingback: Writing Advice: the Good, the Bad and the Useful! « Writing Tips

  6. For a long time, I considered myself a closet writer. I was one of those who always talked about writing and someday writing a book, but never really pushing myself to reach that goal. Now, I consider myself a WRITER because I’m working on the book, promoting myself as a writer, building a fan base, etc. There’s nothing wrong with being either type of writer, though. It all depends on what you want to accomplish in life.

    Thoughtful piece…thanks!

  7. Pingback: When I was little I wanted to be a writer | Siobhan Chapman

  8. Pingback: Seriously now, you want to be a writer? | WiP [Work in Progress]

  9. Pingback: You Should Be Improving | Keystrokes and Word Counts

Leave a Reply

