KDP Bust – On Going Follow-up: 4th free day

Standard

The first week of June ends my stint with Amazon‘s KDP. I had two free days left. I figured I wanted to use them up, so on Monday of this week, I put my fourth day into play.  I didn’t do a lot of promoting. I tweeted a couple times and applied to some of the sites that do free posting. This was the first time the promo was picked up by only one of the sites (Kindle on the Cheap – Teens).  While I definitely got traffic from them, it wasn’t as great as some of the other sites from past promo days. Beggers can’t be choosers though and I love that they featured me! They’re good folks over there at Kindle on the Cheap.

As far as the day goes, it was pretty much a total bust. I had less than 300 downloads for the day (the past 3 days totaled over 5k downloads) and not a single sale since. Not one! That was surprising and I have to admit, pretty depressing to see.(EDIT: I take it back, I have one sale in the UK! Huzzah! Also, gave away my first book in Spain!)

I don’t plan on attending the pity party long though. While this time around didn’t generate any sales (yet), it did give me the possibility over 250+ more fans. That means more people to look for the next book when it comes out.

Now that my time is winding down, I have to make the decision on whether or not I will re-enroll in the program. Many people seem to be turned off due to what’s been happening over there with their new algorithms and the changes in the program, but one thing that I seem to hear steadily is that the program works best when you have more than one book available for purchase.

Being that Tears of a Clown is due out in a month or so, I want to put that theory to the test. I haven’t decided if I’ll put both books into the program or not, but at least one of them will get another three month stint and we’ll see if it’s true that free days for one boosts sales for the other.

I’ll continue to keep everyone updated on how it goes. Hopefully it will work out in my favor otherwise I’ll have to explore more options because this no sales bit is no fun.

10 responses »

  1. There’s another, more sinister component to consider. Countless authors who have participated in the KDP free days, have been inflicted with hateful 1 star reviews on Amazon. It’s making a lot of people think twice about free days. I just finished mine and sure enough…

    • I have to say, I’ve been lucky enough not to have to deal with that, well at least not on Amazon. I’ve gotten a couple on Goodreads, but with no comments (Which I kind of hate. If you dislike it, I’d rather hear why, even if it’s painful to see).

  2. This makes me wonder who much Amazon’s new algorithm had something to do with your lack of downloads this time. I read a blog post that explained it, but hell if I understood any of it. Maybe I can see if hubby can explain it better.

  3. MB, my three short stories have all just come out of the KDP select program and I’ve put them back on nook and smashwords. I can’t say that participating in the program has been really super good for my sales but I did get a few from my free days (nothing to write home about and probably all sales can be counted on one or two hands – like really 10 or less at any given time).

    I’ve got a few more short stories scheduled to come out this year plus some more state stories, which aren’t even available as ebooks yet, so maybe something will give with my sales overall. I’ve been told I should write more stories like Finally Home using the same characters but I don’t know if I really have another in me like that. I’ll have to wait until Imogene’s story is published before deciding if I’m going to keep going with Kelly and Emma and make it more of a stand alone series or just leave it as it is. That is over a year away right now. Plenty of time to think about it.

    Good luck with whatever you decide to do and who knows, it could be the difference having more than one book available. I’ve seen some killer results (has over 10 books available and most in the program) and then I’ve seen some abysmal results (only has one book available) from different author friends of mine who have been in the program. E 🙂

    Elysabeth Eldering
    Author of Finally Home, a YA paranormal mystery
    http://elysabethsstories.blogspot.com
    http://eeldering.weebly.com

  4. Pingback: Book Updates! « Pretzels and Karma

Leave a Reply

