Do you re-read?

Standard

I love to read. Love. Love. Love. When I find a book I adore, or better yet a series,  it becomes something I want to revisit. Frequently.

I am a bit of a speed reader. I skip a lot of the little words and get the gist of what’s going on. I’m so excited to read new books that I want to zoom through so I can find out what happens! When I do this, it’s inevitable that I’m going to miss the little things. I tend to give it a couple of months and then go back and re-read the book slower, really enjoying the word play, the details, etc.

To me, books are like movies and TV shows.  I bet a lot of you are still watching re-runs of Friends, Seinfeld, Sex in the City, etc. I know someone who’s seen the new Avengers movie three or four times already since it opened. So why not re-runs of your favorite stories in print form? Just because you remember what happens in the story doesn’t mean it will be a boring read the second or third time around. Maybe you’ll make more in depth connections about the morals or the story or see more of the character development. They are things you can miss if you race through reading it the first time. I find, as someone who reads well over one hundred books a year, that by the time I get to the re-read, I’ve forgotten a lot of what happened anyway.

I do know some people who say “I’ve read this already so why would I bother to read it again?” It’s a loss on their part in my opinion.

What makes you want to re-read your books? You enjoy the story? The main character has a special place in your heart? It made you laugh? What are some of your favorite stories to revisit?

 

6 responses »

  1. It’s not uncommon for me to re-read exclusively (for my fiction reading, anyway) for months on end. I do the same with TV shows. Sometimes I just want to *know* that this is the story I’m in the mood for and I just want to *know* where that really adorable/sexy/tense/scary scene is.

    I’ve re-read Anne McCaffrey’s Dragonsinger about once a year since I was in…5th grade? I think 5th grade.

    Bujold’s Vorkosigan is a more recent addition, but I think most of those books are approaching the double-digits, and a few have already passed them.

    I decide which books to keep in paper format based on how likely I am to re-read it over and over; they’re my bedtime/bathtime books.

  2. It’s comforting, I think, to sometimes know what’s going to happen. For example, A Song of Fire and Ice, amazing story, but when I re-read them, I know I can enjoy the story without getting super mad and upset over certain parts since I know what happens in the future. First time I read some of those books, I wanted to throw them across the room.

  3. Pingback: For the love of reading | J. Keller Ford, Young Adult Author

Leave a Reply

