Changing it up

Standard

It’s now day five of Script Frenzy (or at least it will be when this posts) and…it’s slow going! Writing a script is proving to be a much different beast than writing a novel.

There’s a major difference in the way things are described and dialog is a major focus in order to keep the viewer interested. I have to be sure to stay away from things like inner monologues and adding back story that doesn’t really matter in the big scheme of things.  Luckily, I have a friend who is a part of Lunch Break Films who was willing to look over my first couple of pages and give some advice. Score for me! I don’t know that writing for screen or stage will be something I’ll ever end up doing again, but it’s nice to have someone tell me I don’t completely suck at it! Heh.

While I’m not even a week into this project, I can tell how much it’s going to help my writing on a whole. Sometimes we need to step out of our comfort zone and try new things. Maybe switching from novels to screenplays is a bit of a stretch for you, but start small. Try to write something in a different genre. If your main characters are always female, trying writing something with a leading male instead. If 3rd person POV is your thing, switch it up to 1st.

Like anything else, you’re not going to know if you like it or if you’re good at it until you try. Don’t be afraid to branch out. The worst that can happen is that you find it’s not for you.

Just as an FYI, blog posts will probably be a bit on the short side for a couple of weeks. I’ve got this screenplay to finish by the end of the month!

Leave a Reply

