Procrastination Station

Standard

If there’s one thing I’m known for, it’s procrastination. For example, I came up with this topic on Saturday, yet I’m only settling down to write this on Monday night after 9 pm and as I’m writing it, the T.V. is on and I’m flipping back and forth to check email, Fark and Facebook.  I’ll probably write another couple of sentences and then maybe go play a couple rounds of Bejeweled, check my Amazon standing and OH! I have to check-in on Get Glued to get my “The Voice” sticker for this week! Can’t forget to do that.

If I can find something else to do, to keep me from writing, there’s a good chance I’m going to do it.  It’s not that I don’t like to write, because I love to!  I’m just a procrastinator my nature. Why do today what I can put off ’til tomorrow?

What I need to do is give myself deadlines, which as an indie writer can be difficult. If you’re deadline oriented like I am, here are some ideas to help you keep on it and get it done.  If you use Gmail, Google’s email program, you have access to their calendar program. Pick a deadline and have email and pop up alerts set to remind you that the deadline is looming. Also, set up contests and giveaways. If you commit to a contest and don’t follow through, you’re going to make some other people quite unhappy. Goodreads is a good place to set up those contests. Not only will the deadline help get you writing but running the contest will get the word out about your upcoming book. Then you’ll have people pining for your amazing story and if you don’t hit the deadline, think of all the people you’ll be letting down! You don’t want to do that, now do you?

Another good idea is to join a writing group, whether it’s online or not.  If you know you have to do a reading at some point, you better have that stuff done! There will be no mercy and no passing when it comes time to read! If you have an online writing partner or group, they can pester you and kick you in the ass as well. My writing partner Patty has made her own group called “Are you writing now?” where you make monthly goals that you’re accountable for by the end of the month.

Whatever path you choose, make sure you choose something or you may be like me and just keep putting things off. Then those novels and sequels and blog posts will never get done and a whole lot of people will be sad they can’t read (more of) your work.

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

