Things I love: YA novels!

Standard

NEW:  CONGRATS TO OUR WINNER Krysykat !

THANKS TO EVERYONE WHO ENTERED! I LOVED SEEING EVERYONE’S ANSWERS!

Anyone who follows my blog knows that I write young adult novels, but they’re also the majority of the books I read. Maybe you’re wondering why a uhh thirty something year old woman is almost exclusively reading books “aimed” at teens. I’ll tell you why.  They are good stories dammit.  Many of them discuss issues and positions I was in as a teen; first love, peer pressure, trying to find myself, etc. I can relate to so many of the things these characters go through and it reminds me of the somewhat simpler times of being young.

Also, contrary to popular belief, young adult fiction is not all fluff and dumbed down stories.  Many deal with hard hitting topics like drugs and rape and depression. They can turn readers onto other authors such as Shakespeare and Camus.  They give teens an escape from their problems and maybe someone , real or not, to look up to if that character has gone through some of the same issues they are experiencing in life.

Are some of the stories silly and fluff filled? Surely, but you can find adult  novels that do the same thing. I think hooking a young reader is the best thing an author can do. If someone told me my books got them interested in reading, I’d be over the moon.

Since we’re discussing the love of YA, now would be a good time to mention I’m taking part in the I Heart YA Giveaway Hop! That means I get to give someone a free YA e-book! YAY free book!! It’s better than a box of chocolate and flowers that will die.

hop

I’m giving away an amazing YA book by my writing partner and friend Patricia Lynne. Her book, Being Human is a great twist on a vampire story. It’s about family, bonds and learning what it takes to be human. I love that it spans several years, but not an insane amount of time. This vampire isn’t hundreds of years old. The story is touching, entertaining and an overall good read. It gives you that paranormal fix you need but without shoving the same ole story in front of your face. I *heart* it and I’m excited to be able to offer it to you guys!

There are plenty of ways to enter, but the only one you HAVE to do, is answer the first question below.  Best of luck and be sure to click the above I Heart YA Giveaway Hop button to see who else is participating and how you can find books from them as well!

Please leave your responses and if you liked & followed in the comments below. Thanks and good luck!

1) If you could play any character (male/female, human or not) in the movie version of a YA book, who would you choose and why?

2) Like my Facebook page: MB Mulhall

3) Follow me on Twitter: @queenbeetf

4) Follow the blog

29 responses »

  1. I would love to play Clary from the Mortal instruments. She’s got red hair (and I’d die to have it), she’s strong and has a gorgeous boyfrined!

    twitter: aliaslucia

    aliasgirl at libero dot it

  2. I would like to play Rose from the Vampire Academy series because she kicks ass. And she has Dimitri. Thanks for the giveaway

    twtitte-PersephoneWR
    wingedpersephone at gmail dot com

  3. I would play Jessie Hauptman from the Mercy Thompson books. She’s epic, and has epic friends 😀

    cigam9(at)gmail(dot)com

    Thanks for the giveaway!

  4. That is a hard question for me. Maybe Kelley from the Wondrous Strange series or Raisa from the Seven Realms series.

    FB – Tressa Sherman
    Twitter – @TresSherm
    tressa dot sherman at hotmail dot com

  5. I haven’t read a lot of YA books that have females roles them that I like so I’ll just say if I were a guy I’d like to play Matt from the House of the Scorpion by Nancy Farmer. I love this novel because it deals with the consequences of cloning and social/political structures. Matt is a strong character who literally has to fight for his life.

    Following on FB – Shane Russell
    Following on Twitter – @shanerus
    shanerus at gmail dot com

  6. I’d love to be Emma from Spellcaster…she doesn’t know her own power yet and she has a SUPER HOT man 🙂

    Following on Twitter as @celjla212
    Following on Facebook as Carrie Lee Ardoin
    Following your blog through WordPress, Carrie Ardoin (Sweet Southern Home)

  7. I would love to play Elisa from The Girl of Fire and Thorns even though I am not the right age&etc for the part because I think self image is so important to girls/ladies/women today. It doesn’t matter what others think of you; it matters what you think of you && that you can be strong, powerful and beautiful despite everything.

    • Excellent choice. I loved that book and I kind of hate how people picked it apart saying it was all about her being fat and eating all the time. It was much more than that and she grew as a character and learned to love herself, regardless of whether she was skinny or plump.

  8. I would love to be Sophie from Hex Hall.I always wanted to be a witch, and I am pretty sure if I was I would probably get in trouble just like her.

    like you on facebook: Helen Bush
    follow on twitter: helldog3

  9. 1) If you could play any character (male/female, human or not) in the movie version of a YA book, who would you choose and why?

    Hmm, this is a toughie. One of my favourite books are the Sookie Stackhouse novels. I know that they are already a TV series, but if they made it into a movie, I would love to play Sookie. She gets Bill AND Eric! huzzah! Or probably anyone with superpowers. Woop

    2) Like my Facebook page: MB Mulhall (done from Limebird Writers)

    3) Follow me on Twitter: @queenbeetf (was following already, but we are @limebirdwriters)

    4) Follow the blog (was following already!) 🙂

    What a great idea! The plot sounds really fun and good luck to your friend with her book!

  10. 1) I would want to play Katsa from the Graceling. It is one of my favourite books and I love her character.

    2) Fb: Stella Chen

    3) @iEnterGiveaways

  11. I would play Rose from The vampire academy series. She is so strong and beautiful.
    FB: Andra Mary
    TWITTER: @missandramary
    thanks

Leave a Reply

