The Active E-book

Standard

While some of you are still new to the whole idea of an E-book, there are others who are taking it to a whole new level already. No rest in the technology movement forward!

Introducing the Active E-book, brought to you by Coliloquy Digital Publishing!

So now you’re probably asking, what the hell is an Active E-book and why do I care about it.  Remember those Choose Your Own Adventure books old ole? Well an Active E-book is quite similar to those, although with less choices for you to make. It’s an app for your Kindle and the choices you and other readers make will help drive the story later on if it’s part of a series (as in the author will write the future books in the series with the choices of the readers in mind!). Because the choices are “recorded” you do have to have your wifi enabled while you read, but it’s not that big a deal.

At the moment, there seems to be six available titles, with three of them aimed at the young adult market.  I think that is a good direction to go in since thanks to social networking and other apps where they can easily voice their opinion and interact with others,  they will enjoy being able to have a hand in the making of the story.

Now the the major difference between these Action E-Books and the Choose Your Own Adventure books is that the reader doesn’t get to make as many choices in the story. I’ve only come across one or two decisions to make in what I’ve read.  You may be thinking “That’s it? What’s the point?” whereas I’m thinking “Yay the story keeps moving!” I found the old books were lacking in-depth stories and  while the choosing was fun, it felt kind of jarring. I prefer the lesser amount of choices for a more coherent story line.

You do have the option to go back an change your choice, which I love. I haven’t done it yet myself so I’m not sure if when you make a different decision how much of the remaining story line changes. I’m excited to find out though!

While it isn’t an exact replica of the old books, I think it’s something new and fun and definitely worth looking into. I love these new ideas and that it allows readers to become more invested in a story. Hopefully that will prompt non-readers to get more excited and look forward to reading more. What could be better than that?

4 responses »

  1. Technology is a changing. That’s for sure. I say that anything that gets reluctant kids reading is wonderful. Interactive books, especially for kids, sounds fantastic to me.

    It will be fun to see where books are as a whole in five to ten years from now. Can’t wait.

  2. The app is only available if you have something you can download apps on? I’m kind of confused where to find this app and where to put it on my kindle. I have the basic keyboard model (the one that was priced at $139 before they added the ads to cut the price to $99 – I think its a Kindle 3 (as in third generation); I don’t have the 3G + wifi model, just the model with wifi. Can the apps be downloaded on that model as well and where do we go to find the apps for these interactive books so I can try it out for myself. Thanks for sharing something fun and interesting with us. This sounds like it will go many places – E 🙂

    Elysabeth Eldering
    Author of Finally Home, a YA paranormal mystery
    “The Proposal” (an April Fools Day story), a humorous romance ebook
    “The Tulip Kiss”, a paranormal romance ebook
    “Bride-and-Seek”, a paranormal romance ebook

    • The book itself is the app so you only download the book and not a separate app…it’s just what they call it. I’ve got a 2nd gen 3G model and I think it works on all of the E-ink versions of Kindle so you should be fine!

Leave a Reply

