Can’t stop tweaking!

Standard

No, this is not a post about having a meth habit. I’m talking about tweaking your work. While it is important and helpful to go through and make some changes, there has to be a point when you say enough is enough.  Of course I’m not talking about a first draft, I’m talking about your finished already edited work.

My novel, Near Death, is in its final days before being unleashed into the world wide web. I’m doing one last read through looking for formatting issues and typos. Makes sense, right? Important stuff to be done, no doubt.  I’ve found some issues and was able to correct them, but I also found myself thinking “Gah this sentence sucks. I should re-write it ” or “This scene seems… sophomoric. I should erase it and re-write a whole new scene”.

NO! No I shouldn’t! I’ve been through this work five times already. I’ve made hundreds of changes. I was finally happy, paid to have it proofed and spent all that time formatting. If I make these major changes, I have to go through a lot of that all over again and the book will never get released.

I think my fear of being a failure is coming through and trying to keep me from publishing. We should confront and conquer our fears, no?

I have come to the conclusion that while I love the story, I will never be 100% happy with it, always finding something to tweak to “make better”. I’ve decided that I need to let it be and release it into the wild. Take flight little book! You are great just the way you are!

 

18 responses »

  1. No writer is EVER 100% happy with their work. They will always worry and nitpick. What we write and put out there, it’s like sending our kids out into the world. To be liked, to be bullied.

    You have to just stop looking at it. Put it away. Have someone else check things if necessary, but you have to just let go and let readers!

    I know you’ll do great!

  2. Thanks Kristine! It’s true, it is like a baby and now that i’ve told everyone, I don’t want to see that baby fall flat on its face! 😀

  3. I went through that too! I was doing one last read through and thought the exact same things. I had to force myself not to change anything. Then I thought, ‘One more read through… NO!!! No more. It’s done, finished, the end. No. More. Changes.’ Part of the reason I managed to hit publish was to keep myself from thinking about tweaking just a little bit more. ^^;;

  4. Heh it’s nice to know I’m not alone with these kinds of things. You start to get all these doubts and freak out and AHHHH! 😀

  5. Maybe you’ll luck out and not get one! And for what it’s worth, I think 3 stars is just fine. Average. I’m good with that 😀

    • I didn’t think of that. Normally I go back and read my stuff and think Wow, I wrote this? But I’ve come a long way while working on this book and I’m afraid my other stuff is not going to look as good as it has in the past! heheh

  6. Congrats on your new book coming out… If you want to do a guest post or interview on my blog to promote it, you’re more than welcome (just send me a message on facebook, email or twitter if you’re interested).

Leave a Reply

