Guest Post: NaNo NoWay

Standard

November is almost here and you know what that means: NaNoWritMo. Writers everywhere are getting ready to hunker down and crank out 50k words in a month and hope it produces a story worth editing. But what about writers who don’t do NaNoWritMo? Are they left in the dust for reasons outside of our control? Missing out on a great time? What if a writer chooses not to do it?

What about me?

I heard about NaNoWritMo last year. I had just gotten onto the writing scene in November so I really didn’t know what it was until November was almost over. Next year, I thought. Then I started figuring out how I write best and that setting a schedule or deadline really doesn’t work for me. In fact, it turns my brain right off, sends my muse running for the hills and causes my characters to cower. I am not a writer who excels under stress. A friend, tried to get me to do a novel in three days competition with her and I completely blanked out. Couldn’t even think of how the current stories I was working on went. All I could think was, You want me to do what? In how much time?

So now, as everyone talks NaNoWritMo, psyching themselves up, I’m trotting along on my own path, not preparing, plotting or planning. I do feel a little left out. I hear it’s a great community to be part of. I could try too, dust off an older idea. I have plenty. But I just can’t. I can’t even think, it’s too intimidating, too much for a panster like me. I write when I want and when I feel like it. When someone asks me about setting deadlines, schedules or doing something like timed word sprints, or am I doing NaNoWritMo? I say, Noooooo way. Not for me. And I swear, I must be the only one saying that.

 

Today’s post is brought to you by the lovely, the talented, the sparkly vamp hater: Patricia Lynne!

Patricia Lynne is a young adult author. She recently self published her first novel, Being Human. It is available in ebook or paperback on Amazon, Barnes and Noble and Smashwords. You can find her on Twitter, Facebook and Goodreads, usually when she’s supposed to be writing. When she’s not running away in terror of deadlines, she’s switching from one story to the next, wondering if she can ever finish a story before starting the next. It does happen though… Sometimes. She lives in Michigan with her husband, likes to dye her hair the color of the rainbow and glomps anyone who agrees that Green Day is the best band ever!

 

10 responses »

  1. Patricia, I’m with you! I think it’s a great idea but I already resent every minute I spend on anything other than writing such as my work (!), cleaning, washing, yawn, yawn, that introducing extra deadlines would tip me over the edge. When it works though, it must be fantastic – imagine all those words behind you. Even if you have to re-write them all, you have your story. My other problem would be that I like to tweak as I go along which means that I can write a couple of thousand words a day and then be three thousand down at the end of the week. With Nano, I’d feel like I had to stick with the word count. Great when it works though. Good luck everyone!

  2. OMG MB! the sparkly vamp hater: Patricia Lynne! XD

    Jackie, glad to see I’m not the only one. Maybe one year I’ll give it a try, but right now I want to focus on my stories that need to be finished and not starting a new one (even though I got a new idea last night >.<)

  3. I told myself I was doing it this year, but there’s absolutely NO WAY I can put my other projects on hold. To devote an entire month to only one story would put me behind on four others, and I just can’t risk that. So, I’m totally with you, Patricia. πŸ™‚

    • It’s all good! Like I said, for me it’s a good catalyst to get something started, but if you are already involved with something and have good momentum, why would you want to stop? Good luck with your projects!

  4. I thought I was the only one whose characters cower at the thought of deadlines! NaNo is a great idea, but it’s overblown, IMO. I was thinking about doing it this year, at a much reduced word count, but the closer November gets the less my characters have to say. At this rate, they’ll be comatose by Halloween!

    And that would not be good. At all.

    So, three cheers for the not-so-lone voices in the digital wilderness crying “NOOOOO” at NaNoWriMo!

    Now, does anyone know of a good anti-NaNo support group? πŸ™‚

  5. I do think Nano leaves us with a lot of sub par novels, but I like the idea of all these people being excited to write and read. As an elementary school teacher (well, I would be if I could find a teaching job) I saw that soooo many of the kids hated to write. So much so that when I sub, I make it a threat for bad behavior.

    “If you guys don’t quiet down, I’ll make you write a letter to your teacher apologizing!” It shuts them up pretty quickly.

    Heh you guys can start your own #antinano hashtag πŸ˜›

  6. Pingback: NaNoWriMo: Day 17 | My Writer's Cramp

Leave a Reply

