Speaking of 5 star reviews…

Standard

Remember how, a few posts ago, I bragged about being stingy with my 5 star reviews? Well, It just so happens that I recently stumbled onto a landmine of amazing books, as in four 5 star worthy books in one week! I want to share them with you because there’s not much I love more than recommending a good book to someone and having them love it as much as I did. So here goes!

Book 1:
Ahh, The Girl of Fire and Thorns, a young adult fantasy novel with an imperfect, insecure and overly curvy heroine. She’s a 16 year old who’s been coddled and left in the dark about her real purpose in life. Impending war helps her to  grow, gain confidence and live up to the prophesies written about her.

I like that the MC was real. I have seen a lot of people complain that Elisa found herself to be worthless until she lost weight and why I won’t say it’s right, I feel that it’s realistic. People have insecurities and body issues (whether they’re big and small) and while it’s definitely better to come to accept and love yourself for who you are and not what you are, the reality of it is, a lot of people are not going to come to love themselves without making some kind of change. I feel like this is what happened with Elisa. Not that she consciously made the change, but it still happened and it gave her that boost of confidence to live up to her destiny and not be afraid to assert herself and try to help.

If you feel like the weight issue is going to teach your kids bad things, use it as a lesson to teach them it’s important to love themselves, etc. Books can be good for that kind of thing, you know?

Back to the book:
The plot was involved and the pacing was awesome. Not a slow spot to be found. Not in my opinion anyway. There’s a lot of talk of “God” but I definitely don’t feel like it came off as preachy, especially since it showed people’s doubt and how many of them have lost religion in their lives.
It is the first in a trilogy but things wrap up well enough for it to be a stand alone book.
I have to say I’m kind of hoping one of the friendships develops further in the series and I think the author is plotting it that way. I’ll keep my fingers crossed.

Book 2:

The Night Circus  was, simply put, magical. With flowing prose, side show oddities, an unusual love story and those wonderful little vignettes where I, the reader, was waiting for and then walking through the circus, it was a complete experience.

The style was something unique and even though the story was slow building, it kept my attention and interest and I enjoyed the character of the actual circus and how we kept learning about it and its changes.

It’s not rank with non-stop action, there isn’t sex galore but it’s whimsical and fantastical and immensely enjoyable. It won’t be for everyone, but if you’ve looking for something different from the norm, if you’re the kind of person who seeks out the unusual, the mystical, the unexplainable, if you want to be a believer, then this book is most definitely for you.

Book 3:

There are quite a few young adult novels out there about angels these days, but I didn’t even know that The Daughter of Smoke and Bone involved them until almost the middle of the book. That was a good thing. This book was full of mystery, secrets and wishes. Past lives, battles and forbidden love. It takes place beautifully described locations like Prague and Paris.

What did I love about it? The style, the voice, the unexpected twists and turns and…the teeth. Weird, I know, but all I could keep thinking was “What the hell are all those teeth for?!” I loved that the author keeps you guessing until the end of the book. I love that while there’s romance, it’s not all “OOOOMG I’ve seen that guy once and I know without a doubt that I love him and would do absolutely anything for him!”. I swear that drives me batshit insane to see in so many YA books these days. You want your character to fall in lust? Go for it! That’s natural. Love at first sight? Ehhh I’m not really a believer. Betraying your friends and family for some guy you just met? Even more unlikely. Which is why I enjoyed Karou admiring and being attracted to *name redacted for non-spoiling reasons* but thinking that she couldn’t give him absolutes when it involved the well being of her family.

Again this is the first book in a series and I cannot wait for the next to come out. It’s just something different in a flooded category.

Book 4:

One of my favorite books of last year was Anna and the French Kiss. It was just the kind of story that sucked me in and made me wish I was Anna. Great voice and great character development. When their hearts broke, I felt it. I know I know, that sounds cheesy, but it’s true. When I saw that Lola and the Boy Next Door was a sequel of sorts, I jumped up and down and could not wait to read it. I have to say, Lola does not disappoint. Not only did it suck me in like the original, but it had plenty of Anna and St. Claire from the original book. I love that!  Again, there’s great voice and I felt for the characters. Also,  I just love me some geek love. It’s*so* cute!

I don’t know that there will be be a third book, although I suppose it’s possible with Lola’s best friend. That would be pretty awesome and I’m going to cross my fingers and maybe wish on some stars for that.

 

 

So there you go. Four amazing books, all pretty different, to add to your to-read list. Please, if you’ve read them or you read them later, comment and let me know what you think, even if your opinions vary from my own. I’m always up for a good debate on books (civil of course!)

2 responses »

  1. OOh good good! Pick ’em up when you have a chance. I don’t think you’ll be disappointed. Feel free to come back and chat about ’em i f you’d like!

Leave a Reply

