Right to Write Everyday?

Standard

You’ve probably heard that if you’re going to be a writer, you should write everyday. Hell, I’ve probably told you that in the past but let’s face it, writing is normally a second “job” for most of us and when life gets busy and complex, it’s not always possible to write on a daily basis. I’ve tried to do it and much of the time I succeed, but on those rough days…I’ve been known to stretch it and count emails, Facebook statuses and texts. Hey, it’s writing! It’s just not writing for one of my novels.

Do I think it’s helpful if you can write everyday? Most definitely. I think if you only write when the feeling moves you, you’ll end up finding that you don’t write very much at all. Sometimes we need to push ourselves otherwise we’ll just be stuck and fall into writer’s block or get discouraged and never finish the work.

Here’s the thing, I think it’s important to carve out time to write. If you’re serious about it then yes, you need to put in the effort, try to write as much as you can *BUT* don’t beat yourself up if you can’t get to it every single day. Things come up, you’re down, you’re mentally and physically drained, whatever. It’s going to happen. It’s not the end of the world. Pick it up tomorrow.

I also think it’s important to remember that as writers, we do other things besides write out stories.  Don’t forget to count time spent plotting, researching, outlining, writing character profiles, editing, revisions, re-writing, reading, etc. It all counts. Without those things, you don’t have a great completed product. They’re all a part of the process and count towards that write everyday quota. To me, anyhow.

Do you write everyday? Do you think it’s essential to your craft?

 

5 responses »

  1. I definitely have days that I’m mentally exhausted from “real” life and can’t add to my WIP with anything useful. I try to do something else like reading, which helps me to mellow out and relieve the stress.

  2. Yeah, I think it’s important to write creatively every day. Even if it’s just one word it can stop the anxiety getting the back of your neck. Sure, with day job, family and activities it can be difficult to get a routine time slot. Unless I’m totally whacked out I always try to give myself a word count target or allocated time slot last thing at night before sleep. When I get to a difficult bit I sleep on it and, hey presto, the morning brings an answer.

    • Ahh if only I could resolve all my issues through sleep! I seem to find answers while in the shower. I rarely remember dreams. I agree it’s important to schedule it, I just hate seeing people beat themselves up if they find they can’t get to it on a night. It’s like any other habit you’re actively trying to develop whether it’s working out or eating well, one slip up is not cause for giving up!

  3. It’s important to attempt to write as much as possible, but like any job, a break is needed. Otherwise, you will mental drain yourself and end up not writing anyways. Plus, sometimes writing has to take a back seat to more important life matters.

Leave a Reply

