Done with KDP

Standard

The first of this month ended my second stint with Amazon‘s KDP (Kindle Direct Program). I thought I had another month to go and ended up having to scramble to use the last of my free days.  Again, the days were pretty much a bust. I know part of that is due to the lack of time to notify the proper sites (although I did give it a try, I knew my chances of being featured at such short notice would be slim to none) .Still, I gave away a couple hundred books over a three day period. Not one sale since.

When I started the program, my promos would end and it would bump me to a place where people would see my book and I’d do a good 30-60 sales for the next couple of days. Ahhh those were the days. I’m still not sure exactly why Amazon opted to change things. Aren’t sales for me also sales for them? I don’t see how this is benefiting either of us if I’m not selling anything. If someone would be willing to explain it, you’d have me as a captive audience for the duration of that explanation.

Since the program is not doing much for me anymore, I opted not to renew my “contract” with them. I’ll be putting Near Death back up on Barnes & Noble and also on Kobo. There’s no need to alienate non-Kindle folks any longer.  When Staying Alive finally comes out, I may put it into the program since it’s part of a series and it may help boost sales of the other book, but it’s definitely up in the air for the moment.

You’ve let me down Amazon. We had something good going on. I thought you cared, but you didn’t even protest when I decided to leave. I guess this was just another one sided love affair in my life. *sigh*

6 responses »

  1. I’ve wondered the same thing. Not that any of my sales have been great at any point, having books in the Select program isn’t worth it to me. I can honestly say that I never saw increases after my freebie days even with promoting the heck out of everything and that was back in February and a few subsequent months after that (three different titles at various times during the months of February, March, April, May and part of June). I took the vow a couple of months ago not to opt back in, even if I publish more books since I never saw the boost in sales, not that I really have any tremendous following as it is. I can only hope one day to have a big following. I’ll just keep on doing what I do and hope that one day I start making money on my books.

    Good luck with everything when your new one comes out – don’t sign up for the Select program – not worth it – lol. E :)

    Elysabeth Eldering
    Author of FINALLY HOME, a middle grade/YA mystery written like a Nancy Drew mystery

  2. I agree with you that it makes no sense why Amazon changed their algorithm which resulted in fewer sales after a free day, but all in all, I think the KDP Select program is still a viable way for new authors to be noticed. Using my free days at Amazon helped to rank my books faster and place them in those “customers also bought this” lists. I went from an unknown author to selling over 500 books in one month. So I do think that KDP Select and free days have their place. Another benefit is the ability to be paid for borrows. Those have been just like sales for me, since the borrow rate has stayed at $2.00 or above so far. Even if you stop using free days, you can benefit from these borrows.

    What authors need to understand is that using free days isn’t a long-term marketing strategy. The first one or two times you use them for a book, it’s great. After that, the downloads slow down and you don’t change much in rank and sales. Free days should be used sparingly – perhaps no more than twice a year.

    Now, after saying all that, I have to say that I removed one of my novels from KDP Select last month and placed it on Barnes & Noble to “gain” all those Nook sales. So far, I haven’t had a one – plus I’m losing out on borrows at Amazon. I’ll keep it on B&N through the holiday season and see what happens, but I’m not rushing to place my other books over there. B&N has only about 27 percent of the ebook market (Amazon has 70-80%) so it isn’t surprising that I’m not seeing sales there. But it is worth a try at least for a while.

    Best wishes on your upcoming book!

  3. Pingback: My last KDP Select Promo – Time to move on | Renata F. Barcelos' fiction

Leave a Reply

