Celebrating Community

Standard

When I decided to self-publish, I never imagined I’d find so many great communities (online and off!) of authors, both self and traditionally published.  They are great sources of support, advice and encouragement.

I was recently contacted by my indie author friend, Pavarti K Tyler,  who celebrates Ramadan and wanted to break her fast ( Eid al-Fitr) with her online community. From now (August 16th) until August 19th, many authors (myself included) will be helping her to celebrate via blog hop where we’ll be sharing recipes, discussing our ideas of community and togetherness and talking about how we share happiness.

Also, there’s prizes! Lots of prizes! Free stuff! Yay! (Sadly, Rafflecopter doesn’t work here for me, so PLEASE be sure to stop by HERE to enter and to see who else is participating in the blog hop! Seriously, so maaaany great giveaways! Check it out!)

My participation today is to share one of my favorite recipes.  I picked this specific one because it’s one I’ve share with many people online and I’ve also made it for friends and family.  It’s easy to make, inexpensive, feeds many, is vegetarian and weight watcher friendly but one you can adapt to add your own preferences whether it’s different veggies or  meat for the carnivores.

Without further ado, I present to you all: TACO SOUP

It makes a HUGE amount so be prepared to eat it for a while or to freeze it!

 

Ingredients:
1 can black beans
1 can white beans
1 can pink beans
1 28oz can of crushed tomatos
1 cup water
1 can tomato soup
1/4 cup chili powder
1/4 cup salsa
1/4 cup taco sauce
generous shakes over black pepper, onion flakes and garlic powder
1 can kernel corn
2 tbsp hot sauce (optional)

 

Directions:
Mix all items in a big pot and simmer for about 20/30 min.  Top with cheddar or mozz. cheese.
A great crusty bread is nice to dip in it too.

 

(I tend to not use back beans but red kidney beans instead but whichever you prefer is fine :)  Adjust the spice level with your choice of salsa and taco sauce and whether you add hot sauce or not. Also you can swap out the corn for things like spinach or kale.)
10 responses »

  1. Pingback: What does community togetherness mean to you? « Happy Honkers

  2. Pingback: Celebrate Community Blog Hop – What does community togetherness mean to you? #EIDCC | alchemyofscrawl

  3. Pingback: What Does Community Mean To Me - Celebrate Community (#EIDCC) -Cabin Goddess

  4. Pingback: My Favorite Photos & Story Behind them- Celebrate Community (#CCEID) -Cabin Goddess

  5. Pingback: My Snoopy Dance - Happiness Shared- Celebrate Community (#CCEID -Cabin Goddess

Leave a Reply

