On-Air Promotions

Standard

There is a growing trend these days that I don’t think indie authors know enough about: Internet radio and Podcasts.  A couple months back I did a post about vlogging (video blogging) and commented that it would probably be the only one I ever do. I’m not a fan of how I look on video or in pictures, so that’s definitely one avenue I won’t take much advantage of, *BUT* I can definitely talk and had, at one time, planned on going into radio. That’s where these new Internet radio stations and Podcasts come in handy because they don’t want to see what I look like, they just want to hear me talk!

Last week I was lucky enough to have the opportunity to be interviewed for a podcast called inThirty, Tech Podcasts in 30 minutes. Because they discuss all sorts of cool tech news and gadgets, we focused more on how to publish e-books and Kindle‘s KDP program. There was a little talk about my process and why I opted to self-publish as well.  If you guys want to hear the melodic tones of my voice, and get some good information on the program, take a listen!

Navigating the Amazon Book Store

Also, they cover a wide range of tech topics. You can find something there for everyone regardless of your level of tech knowledge, so be sure to check them out (click on their name earlier in this post)!

Another blossoming option is to look for book reviewing/writing related  shows on Internet radio. They are similar to the podcast but often allow for a call-in segment so people can actually participate in the interview and ask their own questions just like a “real” radio show. The shows can range from 15 to 30 to even 60 minutes. Blog Talk Radio is a good site to check for shows to be on or to even start up your own. I’ve considered starting up a talk of my own about some of the books I read, either as an online book club kind of situation or just recommendations. We’ll see if I have the time to put into it!

Next week, Friday July 27th at 6:30pm EST, I’m going to be a guest on Broadcast from the Bistro which is a show that has author interviews, tips for bloggers and authors alike and dubs itself as a place to relax about books and learn a few new or forgotten ideas.  Right now the shows are 15 minutes long and she is looking for more authors to chat with so if you’re interested, contact Babs at:

asatthebistro@gmail.com

Don’t be afraid to think outside of the box when it comes to doing promotions. Get in on the ground level with some of these new technological crazes. It will get your name out there to a whole new group of people and you’ll be in the know while others are scratching their heads wondering how else they can promote their books.

3 responses »

  1. Good tip, in fact I’ve been thinking about audio for some time but it just hasn’t made it to the top of my task list. I think it’s important to branch out into different forms of promotion because not everybody likes to read (gasp!). Thanks for the inspiration, and nudge.

  2. Pingback: Book Updates! « Pretzels and Karma

Leave a Reply

