Rejection: It’s a reality

Standard

You may have noticed in the last month or so I have clammed up about Tears of a Clown. It had been up as a giveaway on Goodreads and I had to pull it. At the time I didn’t give a reason but asked that you guys please understand and I’d let you know what went on.

Welp, here goes.

About a month or so ago, I took a chance and participated in a Twitter Pitch contest. 140 characters to pitch your book to several different agents at once. If yours caught their eye, they could request a partial. Much to my surprise, my pitch interested someone. I was shocked and elated and rather nervous. I had decided with Near Death that I was going to go the self-published route without even trying to go traditional so I never wrote a query. I had done some research prior and got some tips from one of those sites that allows you to send your query in and they rip it apart for you but I had never seriously sent one to an agent. So that was a first and I was pretty happy with what I came up with and I sent it in along with my first 50 pages.

Then I waited.

And waited.

And waited.

While it was really only a couple of weeks (and no I didn’t expect a super quick response, especially since I had seen this agent was super busy traveling the country for all sorts of events) it seemed like a lifetime to hear back from them. Sadly, they passed on it but wished me luck, which is always nice.

Tears of a Clown is a bit of a different kind of story. One that started as a joke amongst friends and surprisingly came into its own. I never entertained the thought of trying to send it out to agents for traditional publishing. Hell, I never expected to have someone be interested in the Twitter pitch, so all of it came as a surprise and gave me a little experience with the process.

Am I sad? I’d be lying if I said the rejection didn’t hurt at all because let’s be honest, no one likes to be rejected. But it’s often a reality in this business and if it happens a couple of times, it just helps you grow a thicker skin or maybe fix some problems to make a better product.

Instead of wallowing in my rejection or throwing myself a pity party, I decided to look on the bright side of things.  I can self-publish it very soon (final proofs are being done and digital formatting needs to be finished) and I get to use the cover that was already designed, which makes me a bit giddy. Heh.

All in all, a good learning experience and now I can say I officially have my first rejection under my belt.  I kind of feel like it’s a rite of passage and now I can join the club of rejected authors. Someday I hope to be able to join the club of accepted authors too, but for the moment, I’m quite content with being in the club of self-published authors. We’ve got cookies.

8 responses »

    • It’s never fun, that’s for sure, but to dwell on it too long isn’t good either. If you need your cry or down day(s) take ‘em but be sure to pick yourself back up again :)

  1. My children’s book was rejected over 50 times in the space of two years. I gave up on it, but kept telling the story to my sons. Three months ago I published my (adult focused) sci-fi novel. When my boys’ teachers heard about it, they both turned in shock to the boys. “Your Mommy wrote a book!” Their nonchalant reply? “Oh, yeah, she’s always telling us stories and stuff.”
    Keep you chin up and keep your focus on telling the best story that you can tell. Let your inner storyteller shine through and the rest will come.
    In the meantime, we do indeed have cookies. Also, brownies.

    • Congratulations on publishing! As for the children’s book, sometimes I think things just need to be presented at different times, so I wouldn’t give up completely. Focus on other things and maybe come back to it later. If your boys enjoyed it, then others certainly will too.
      Thanks and best of luck! :)

Leave a Reply

