Do you believe in your work?

Standard

I am going on a little couple day mini-vacation at the beginning of the week and realized I had to prep this post in advance (eep!). I had no idea what I was going to blog about so my writing buddy, the talented Patricia Lynne, suggested I answer a question that was  posted to her by a commenter  on one of her recently blogs about being anti-social.

Do you believe in your book?

It’s a good question, don’t you think?  I’ve posted before that much like my writing partner Ms. Lynne, I am very shy and have a hard time promoting myself. It’s easier to do online but in person when people find out I write, they tend to bombard me with questions and I get a little freaked out. I guess I’m concerned that with the stigma of being self-published still around, that they will hear that and brush me off as “Ooh.  You’re one of those…Anyone can do that.”  Technically, they’re right. Anyone *CAN* self-publish these days, but I know what a feat it is to be able to actually finish writing a novel and get it out there, even through the self-publishing route. Am I proud of that accomplishment? Most definitely. I’m the kind of person who tends to start things and not follow through. Writing had been an exception to that and I plan to keep it that way.

Back to the question at hand, do I believe in my book? I do. While I know my writing has improved since I wrote it many years ago, I still love the story. I love the characters and their interactions with each other. I love the backstory with history worked into it. I love how it all comes together at the end.  If I didn’t love it so much, I wouldn’t be working on finishing the sequel.  Those characters really came to life during a difficult period I was going through and I came to love them. So much so that I needed to write more about them so others, who also came to love them, could see what becomes of the group of friends a few years down the road.

So maybe I really need to work on other aspects of myself so I can promote Near Death the way it ought to be promoted. The last thing I would want is for someone to think I was ashamed of it or didn’t believe it deserved to be out there for the public to read. Perhaps easier said than done, but I will try.  Feel free to remind me or kick me in the ass if you don’t think I’m working at it hard enough. I’ll gladly return the favor if you need me to!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

