What’s the deal with Triberr?

Standard

For those that don’t know, Triberr is site that helps bloggers spread their posts to a larger audience. You join tribes (for a certain amount of bones which is their “currency”) and then you help the other members of your tribe by retweeting their posts to your Twitter followers and they (should) do the same for you.

Joining more tribes helps expand your reach (mine is currently around 107,400 people). Sounds nice right? I may be reaching over 100,000 people, but there’s no promise that  so many people will see the Tweet or click on it.  I guess it does up your chances though.

I belong to three separate tribes: Writers and Writing, Indie Ebooks and a specific author’s tribe.  Belonging to several tribes ups my reach, but that also means there are more posts for me to retweet. Not everyone blogs everyday but there are a couple of folks in each tribe that do. God forbid I miss a day of tweeting, I get all backlogged and have tons to do at once. Which annoys me to no end.

When I have so many posts to retweet I do admit it feels a bit like spamming.  One good thing Triberr does is spaces out your tweets. I’m not sure of the time between each one, but you could retweet twenty posts and they will go out every so often in a space of five hours or so, which is less spammy to me.

I also find issue with some of the posts and won’t always push them through.  If they don’t apply enough to writing or books or things I’d normally tweet about, I may give it a thumbs up but choose not to tweet it. I know others who won’t tweet any posts about erotica. To each their own.  Ideally, I’d love to be able to read every post before tweeting, but by having so many, it’s just not possible. I do get to several though and have learned some things and found some great free books through it.

I think the idea behind Triberr is a good one, but I’m not really sure how big of a help it’s been for my blog. I get a pretty steady amount of hits daily, but not a crazy amount and not so many from the retweets. I do think it has upped my Twitter followers though, which is nice.  I don’t think it’s a bad thing for people to try to broaden their readership, BUT scour the Tribes and be sure to pick ones that best go with the topics you discuss and like to share.  Try not to get involved in too many Tribes at once or you’ll be forever reposting.

If anyone else has anything to share about their own Triberr experiences, please feel free to share!

6 responses »

  1. I think triberr has good and bad aspects to it. Like you, I don’t retweet everything. I try to make sure it’s about books, writing or publishing. I don’t like the new 10 posts in the tribal stream though. Sometimes I don’t get to log on everyday and I can’t see the older posts.

  2. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, MB. I officially left Triberr yesterday. I love the concept of it, but think too many people misuse it. I do believe the whole thing will be seen as a bad social media practice soon enough, because the misuse is more noticeable than the people who are usually judiciously. I’d rather keep my tweet stream for engaging with followers, so I left…

    • I do find I’m engaging with Twitter less and that bothers me. I don’t want people to think I’m just for retweeting for everyone else. I decided to give it a little longer and see how things work out, but I’m kind of leaning the same direction as you.

    • hey guys,

      so believe me, I understand where you’re coming from. Since I’ve been using it from day 1, I noticed I needed extra motivation to engage on twitter because it was so easy not to.

      But Triberr is not about twitter at the end of the day. It’s about helping bloggers be successful. And we have solutions in place that no other site has. We suck at communicating those solutions, but thats a topic for another time perhaps :-)

      Features like ReBlog and our unified comment system are so new and unique people still dont understand the purpose of it. Our ultimate goal is to enable bloggers who produce quality content to get the attention they deserve.

      Sure, we’re not exactly qualified to build a platform like Triberr, and we’ve made plenty of mistakes, but our mission is worthy and our mission is internal.

      And at the end of the day, we are just 2 bloggers helping other bloggers the best way we know how.

      Dino
      Founder of Triberr

      • Dino,

        Thanks for the reply! As I said, I think the idea being Triberr is a good one and I don’t doubt it will grow and change. I’m also sure it’s working great for some. I’m just not as sure that it’s doing for me what I would like it to be doing.

        I’m thinking perhaps cutting back on the number of tribes I belong to so I can really read the posts, which I feel a lot of people probably aren’t doing. I’m a little concerned people are just looking to expand their reach, not really caring what they’re pushing forward to their followers and that’s certainly no fault of yours.

        Hopefully the new systems you have in place will help us all. I will certainly keep an eye on it!

        MB

Leave a Reply

