Things I love: Books that make me laugh

Standard

If you read a lot of YA, you’ll notice that humor seems to be greatly lacking in books today. So many are all about teen angst and drama and blah blah blah.  I’m guilty of writing it myself (because let’s be honest, what teen life isn’t full of angst and drama?) but I love a book that makes me laugh out loud.

Two that immediately come to mind are by author Libba BrayGoing Bovine, while definitely having its serious and sad side, it also has plenty of laughs as you go on a journey that involves a crazy angel and a dwarf/yard gnome. The other, Beauty Queens, is about a plane full of pageant girls that crash lands on a tropical island. Think Survivor meets America’s Next Top Model. So.Funny.  It has all these great little footnotes and pageant rules thrown in.

If you read the blog this past Tuesday, you’ll find my review for Lynn Messina’s The Girls’ Guide to Dating Zombies. Now you might not think of zombie stories as being funny, but that one most definitely is. I love the style of writing that has chapters of the guide worked into the bigger picture of the story. If you’re a zombie fan and want a good laugh, definitely check it out! You won’t be disappointed.

A couple others that had me laughing that you should look into? John Green  and David Levithan‘s Will Grayson, Will Grayson, which is another with a serious side, but definitely contains its humorous parts and one of my all time favorite books ever, Douglas Adam’s Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy.  Don’t just watch the movie folks. As usual, the book is *SO* much better.

Lastly I’m going to give myself a little plug (hey, it’s *MY* blog! I can do that!…can’t I?). As some of you know, I’m working on edits for an upcoming novel called Tears of a Clown. While I’ve always thought of myself as being kind of funny…in a dry wit/sarcastic kind of way, it’s never really translated into my writing until recently. Editing it in public always gets me some weird looks because I can’t help but laugh at my own writing. Hopefully when it comes out, you guys will find it equally amusing!

What book gives you the giggles? Do you write humor too? Share!

 

2 responses »

  1. I think the reason we don’t see many YA humor books is humor is tricky to do and the worry is offending someone. That said, I definitely don’t think your book Tears of A Clown should offend anyone. Then again, I may be biased cuz I loved the story. lol

    • Well humor is a very subjective thing and it’s why this book scares me a little…but I think the only people who might be offended are Juggalos! hahah and even then I don’t really say anything bad about them…just poke a little fun :P

Leave a Reply

